Help a music teacher find an acoustic kit

MeMitch

Hi,

Thanks in advance for any help!

The short(er) -

I teach music for a living (mainly piano and guitar) and want to upgrade from my 2nd electric kit, a Yamaha DTX-450K. I currently have a couple of early elementary school aged drum students, and I also often play the drums along with my other students to help them keep better time and start getting ready to play in groups.

Though I have a fairly large, downstairs, daylight basement music studio, I need to keep the sound down to a “reasonable” level, so I don’t annoy my lovely wife who already hears music coming through the floor from the basement studio at least 6 days a week. I have a large grand piano in the studio, so it doesn’t need to be super quiet, but I need to keep most of the sound downstairs and below the “drums easily cut through walls level” you often hear when people are practicing. I don’t want to build a soundproof room or area, because I enjoy the open feel of the studio, and it would make it harder to play and instruct students during lessons.

I’d like to spend $1500 or less, but could spend up to $2000 for a great sounding set up that will last a while. I’m planning on looking around and buying lightly used gear (like I usually do) to get more for my money, but I can do something else if there’s a good reason.

The long -

I’ve been playing music since I was 12 years old (I’m now in my late 40s) and teaching private music lessons for a living for almost my entire adult life. So, I like to think I have good enough ears to hear “quality” sound, but I’m not a snob about it. If something cheaper gets the job done - great!