hello and thank you

dpurcell

Hi all,

I thought I should finally introduce myself after lurking for about two years. The short version: I grew up playing drums, moved to lead singer/rhythm guitar for 26 years, and returned to drumming just under two years ago at age 50. When I started thinking about drumming again, I came here a lot to read advice, especially on gear (a fairly overwhelming market now compared to when I stopped drumming in 1990!), so a sincere thank you to all of you who post good info.

I live in Cincinnati, drum/sing/write for my band Pike 27 (www.pike27.net), and sit in with some songwriter friends when they need a drummer. My main kit is a Gretsch Brooklyn (12/14/20) with Istanbul Mehmet cymbals. I also have a Gretsch Catalina Club bop kit (12/14/18) and a Roland SPD-SX.

The longer version of my story is that I'm self-taught, as my family was too poor to afford drum lessons and my small Catholic school didn't have a music program. Steve Gadd and the drumming on Aja were early revelations in grade school. Stewart Copeland was my first true love and still a huge influence on my playing. As a freshman in high school, I discovered Rush and punk/new wave at the same time, so Neil Peart and Pete Thomas joined my list of heroes. My first gig was at 16 at a birthday party for a tall, cute ballet dancer who immediately became my girlfriend, so I was hooked. ;-)

My bands got better and more serious to the point that we were working on our first record and ready to hit the road when my co-lead singer/songwriting partner died in a car wreck when I was 23. I didn't know how to play guitar and he would help turn my hummed ideas into chord progressions. I wanted to establish myself as a songwriter, which has hard for a drummer in 1989, so I learned guitar, moved out front, and led a series of Americana/roots rock in Cincinnati, Chicago, and Akron. I filled in a few times for friends who needed drummers, but otherwise didn't drum and didn't even own a kit.