Heel Spurs/Plantar Fasciitis?

Chollyred

Anyone have issues with this type of foot pain? A couple of months ago, I went up a ladder to the roof of our warehouse with contractors that were bidding on re-roofing the building. Within a day or two later, I started having severe foot pain. I figured I'd just strained something climbing the ladder, and that it would get better. Nope! Continued to get worse.

Went to the podiatrist and he diagnosed Heel Spurs and Plantar Fasciitis. He gave me cortisone shots in both heels and tried to talk me into $1000 custom shoe inserts. (I found custom inserts online for <$200). The cortisone shots feel like they're sticking a 16 penny nail through your foot! It hurt so bad that I stopped playing in our worship band.

It took a couple of weeks, but eventually started feeling better; enough that I started playing again. Now the pain is returning. I'm fearing that this could be a career ending injury/condition. If I can help it, I do not want to go through the cortisone shots again. There's also the fear that repeated shots cause the tendon to rupture.

If anyone has gone through this, what did you do? Or, how do you handle it? I've been playing for over 50 years and not ready to give up!

cornelius

Silver Member
I had Plantar Fasciitis - it was pretty uncomfortable... What worked for me was rolling a Lacrosse ball under my foot before going to bed each night and while getting out of bed each morning. Do your whole foot, and focus on your heel - do both feet.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Some good shoes, like Asics or NewBalance make a world of difference too, if you are on your feet all day. I don't know what you wear, but they could be hurting your feet.

Chollyred

Some good shoes, like Asics or NewBalance make a world of difference too, if you are on your feet all day. I don't know what you wear, but they could be hurting your feet.