Hand goes numb

Hello fellow drummers.
I've been playing for about 30 years now, and in the past few years when playing
shows my right hand starts going numb about two-three songs into the set. Then I have to concentrate on gripping my stick so it won't fall out of my hand. The numbness does go away after a couple songs tho.
I use VF X55A sticks, should I try a bigger stick?
I do stretch before the gigs, but this happens all the time. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
I have this issue now where both hands can start to go numb while playing (I'm 52 now).

For the last few years my chiropractor and I have been working on stuff. He has a theory that I'm not suffering from carpal tunnel (because then my hands would be numb all the time). But he's discovered I have a few kinks in my neck where the nerves pass through from the heart to the arms.

Have you ever been checked by a chiropractor? Numbness means blood is being blocked to get somewhere, and you may have a nerve pinch somewhere. The fact that your condition goes away after a few songs is interesting making me wonder if your body just gets used to it and works a bit harder to get the blood flowing to those areas - which I would think in the long run would mean something will wear out quicker because of the increased strain.

I'd recommend seeing your doctor now (before you get to be in your 50s) and maybe visit with a chiropractor to see if any vertebrae are pinching nerves. Couldn't hurt, right?

Thanks for the suggestion. I would rather talk to my chiropractor first and see if that would help. I know the first thing my doctor would want to do is anti-inflammatory meds.

Merlin5

Gold Member