Hand blisters - Is this normal?

Ive been drumming for 2 years and 4 months. I Play for atleast 1-2 hours a day somtimes even 4-6 on a weekened. Im obsessed :D. I used to get these killer blisters from playing that hurt like a bitch. It didnt stop me from drumming but I've now built up some crazy callouses. is this normal? :s

Pollyanna

Platinum Member
Who lad! Keep that up and you'll go blind!

Seriously, I agree with Abe - I've never seen someone callused to that degree from drumming. I used to have to hit hard at gigs and would sometimes get a blister on each thumb at the fulcrum point and I callused in those spots. Bear in mind that I also have a technically incorrect grip.

aydee

Platinum Member
ROFLMAO!!! I got tears in my eyes, I'm laughing that hard... I mean loud.. I mean..aloud..aaaah thanks Pol, Iam now going to walk around all day with a silly grin on my face.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
Wow, that just looks wrong. I must admit, back in my drum corps days, I might've gotten the kind of calluses that are on the palm of your hand just below the little and ring fingers, but not so pronounced and they quickly went away when I stopped playing with the corps.

I agree with Aydee - you should check in with a teacher. Hopefully you can unlearn what you have learned that causes the calluses!

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
I can't figure out how you're doing that mate. I checked out your playing and whilst you can probably loosen up on the stick a bit, you're far more relaxed than I was expecting considering the state of your hands.

I'd be lying if I said I've never had blisters....but your's are near epic. :)

I'll echo the call....go see a teacher and have him take a close look at your grip.

Fishbones

Silver Member
read up on jojo mayer and stanton moore. both have different but very effective grips on the stick. dont tense up while you're playing. just play relaxed and laid back even if thats not the style of your music.