Guitarist looking to get into drums

Pilot1103

Hello,

I have been playing guitar since I was about 12 years old so for 14 years and want to learn the drums. The drums I have been looking into are Gretch because my favorite player plays them, Aaron Gillespie of Underoath. I will be playing similar music as him as well.

Gretsch Renown with Meinl Bynanze Cymbols?

Also is it fairly possible to nail down the drumming of “writing on the walls” by underoath in 6 months to a year?

KamaK

Platinum Member
Much like with guitar, the first year of drumming is a pretty awkward time. Also like guitar, you begin by playing simplified/economized versions until you unlock certain facets of your playing. So yes, you'll be able to play (a simplified version of) that song song in a year... potentially well enough to entertain people.

There are some pretty brisk single stroke fills in the WOTW song. Not superhuman, but not something a typical 1-year drummer will execute cleanly.

While most who actively seek out a Renown aren't postHC players, it can be done. I believe Pierre Bellville did an exposition of one a few years back... found it..

Cymbal selection is often based on how dense/sparse the accompanying instrumentation is, and where you want them to fit into the spectrum pitch-wise.

Pilot1103

Much like with guitar, the first year of drumming is a pretty awkward time. Also like guitar, you begin by playing simplified/economized versions until you unlock certain facets of your playing. So yes, you'll be able to play (a simplified version of) that song song in a year... potentially well enough to entertain people.

There are some pretty brisk single stroke fills in the WOTW song. Not superhuman, but not something a typical 1-year drummer will execute cleanly.

While most who actively seek out a Renown aren't postHC players, it can be done. I believe Pierre Bellville did an exposition of one a few years back... found it..