Gretsch USA Custom Vs. Renown

rinlow

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum. I'm actually a guitarist that is looking for a decent Gretsch drum set for recording and occasional gigs/rehearsal. I'm came across a 2018 renown kit for $1000.00 locally and a nice USA custom for $1300. Given those prices, I would assume the USA custom would be a better value and the quality may be a bit better. I've heard really good things about the renowns and of course, the usa custom.

If you have any thoughts or recommendations of other kits to check out, please let me know!

Thanks

TJK

USA custom all the way at that price difference if the condition of the customs is similar. Renowns are good drums but the customs are the real deal top of the heap lifetime drums. Once you own a kit of customs one usually will only give it up for another.

rinlow

USA custom all the way at that price difference if the condition of the customs is similar. Renowns are good drums but the customs are the real deal top of the heap lifetime drums. Once you own a kit of customs one usually will only give it up for another.
Thanks for the quick reply back. The renowns are in better condition, but i'm sure the sound of the customs are better. The customs are a satin natural and oyster... for the renown. Here's a few photos of both sets below.

Last edited:

TK-421

I can't believe I'm saying this, but in this instance, I'd go for the Renowns. Sound quality is very comparable between the two, but I vastly prefer the sizes of the Renown.

The Renowns appear to be (depth listed first):
7x10, 8x12, 14x16, 18x22

The USAs appear to be:
9x10, 10x12, 12x14, ??x22 (can't see enough of the bass drum to make out the depth)

The shorter tom depths on the Renown make a big difference in positioning the toms comfortably, plus a 16" floor tom (with legs) trounces all over a 14" hanging floor tom, which is what comes with the USA.