Good drummer ... Good dancer?

MattA

It's no secret that playing drums well requires good rhythm.
Dancing also takes good rhythm to do well.
So by that logic, are good drummers good dancers?
I'm looking for anecdotal evidence ...

I am a horrible dancer. Although one time at a school dance, I got bored and danced in 5/4 over a 4/4 pop song. It was hilarious.

In percussion I had terrible rhythm, I had a garage band (guitar) that took a lot of dedication and practice because I had to memorize my parts precisely to 'lock in'. I did feel it, but on rare occasions. Later in college I started learning to swing dance, and really enjoyed it. Several ballroom classes and continued different styles in 4, 8, and 6 step dancing. (I'm not counting the occasional polka) Since then I've been able to feel the beat almost instantly and finally learned to clap on 2 & 4, yes I was one of those jerks. I think it has helped me to learn drums much more so than if I had started without the experience. I also see it carry over, I have a back & forth for latin styles, a side-sway for waltz, and in general movement while playing tends to fit the dance as much as the genre to keep time.

I've always wondered this same thing. I have been playing drums/percussion since I was 2 (I'm now 27) and I have never been very good at dancing. I can slow dance and woo the ladies, but that's about the extent of it. I will admit that I have never liked to dance, so maybe that has something to do with it, but it could just be one of this things, some can do it, some can't.

Nope I could dance IF life depended on it!
But I can keep a band in rhythm all night & watch other people dance

I've done ballroom and latin dancing for 3 or 4 years now... I think playing the drums helps my timing especially on dances where you anticipate the 2nd beat of the bar like the Rhumba which I often see others struggling on, but that's about it. It certainly doesn't help me be graceful ;-)