Good deal on Saturns?

So I was killing time at one of the big music stores while the wife shopped at the mall, and I saw they had a set of used Saturns. They were up high and I couldn't get an up-close look, but they looked to be in really good condition.

Looked like a 22" kick, 12" & 13" mounted toms, 16" FT, 14" x 5.5"(I think) snare. I've determined the finish is transparent black. The badges just said Saturn Series. No hardware but the tom mounts.

A sales associated climbed up and rang on them a bit, and Wow!, definitely a different sound. Asking price was $749. Fair deal?

FWIW I'm a drum noob learning on a cheap DDrums set I picked up on CL. Probably don't need anything better yet, but I've always heard what great drums the Saturns are. Prices I've seen on CL seem to reflect that.

Aren't there some less desirable versions to look out for, and could this explain the low price?

Thanks.

Superman

Gold Member
Great deal. Those are probably the white badges which are the series right before the Saturn IV's came out a couple years ago. I own a kit from that generation and they are fantastic. Maple and walnut combo, totally professional. Brand new those went come to 2k, for $750 is a great deal. Grab them and you will never regret it.

Great deal. Those are probably the white badges which are the series right before the Saturn IV's came out a couple years ago. I own a kit from that generation and they are fantastic. Maple and walnut combo, totally professional. Brand new those went come to 2k, for $750 is a great deal. Grab them and you will never regret it.
This is the exact finish and IIRC, the same badge.

I believe the badges were white. I have a post with a pic of what I believe were the exact drum, but it's in limbo awaiting approval.

Is there anything I should look for that might explain the low price?

Superman

Gold Member