Good affordable overhead mics!

SimSalaBim

Hi

Just started using in ears. Have mics on all my drums for now, but I dont have cymbals in my mix and it sounds bad. Need some tips on some affordable budget overheads. I was looking into this:

The budget is around 100 to 150 bucks. Will this also cover the hi-hat? Any tips are really helpful cause I am total noob in this department. Thx

Rode M2’s come in matched pairs at an affordable price.

Edit: Just realized I meant M5’s.. as mentioned below… oops.

Last edited:
I use one large diaphragm condenser over the center of the kit and one pencil condenser on the hi hats right now. In a live situation I may forego the hi hat mic if I'm using small hi hats (14 or 15) because your snare mic is going to pick up enough of that for a live show.

The best kept secret for overheads are LineAudio CM4.
But they over your budget, if only a little.
Otherwise, these are also very good value for the money:

I have been pleased with the tracks I have done with my Rode M5s ($200/pr)... Are they amazing like something 10x as much.....no.....but they accurately capture what I need and give me something really solid to work with in post processing

Thank you all for the tips. Kind of liking those Rode M5s. They sound like a good deal. Lewitt's are a little out of my price range.

River19 some users reported M5s could be little too bright. What is your opinion and can you descrive the sound and performance a little more? I am really interested in them.

Thank you all for the tips. Kind of liking those Rode M5s. They sound like a good deal. Lewitt's are a little out of my price range.

River19 some users reported M5s could be little too bright. What is your opinion and can you descrive the sound and performance a little more? I am really interested in them.