Getting the Gig

HeavyDrums

I'm new to drums; however, I played bass semi professionally for 30 years. I've done a lot of things to get or keep good gigs in the past: played in a suit and tie, cut my hair, bought new gear, left my wife and child to go on the road, and more. Just wondering what other folks have gone through to get or keep a gig.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
Assuming that the playing is the key consideration - and 99.9% of the time it IS - then staying vital is the way to keep a gig. That means adapting to new styles and technologies as needed, and providing appropriate equipment as needed.

To a somewhat lesser degree, personality is important. Attitude as well. Nobody wants a bitter old drummer hanging around when there are dozens or hundreds or thousands of nice people who can play and would be cheerful and grateful for a gigging situation. Appearance is somewhat important in some groups, but very important in others. A drummer that refuses to wear a suit is not going to be a team player in other areas as well. And being a team player with a pro attitude is important.

It's all of those things.

In a nutshell, you do whatever it takes to keep a gig, if you really want it.

Bermuda

Woolwich

Silver Member
A drummer that refuses to wear a suit is not going to be a team player in other areas as well. And being a team player with a pro attitude is important.