Getting new cymbal? What to get..

So I have been doing some studio work for a buddies new album and I told him I would do it for free because I knew he was right on cash. Well after we finished a couple songs the other day he gave me a gift card to musicians friend that he had as a thank you.. So I'm excited I'm gonna pick up a new cymbal. But I'm not sure what I want to add.. Either a crash or a ride. I have a few cymbals on my radar and I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions. My current setup is a 18in Sabian freq crash, 20in Paiste prototype ride, and 14in hhx groove hats. I mostly play light rock, blues, and pop.

I've considered a 24in light ride and a 20in crash of doom. They seem to be fairly popular and I'm into bigger cymbals. The light ride seems to be pretty crashable which would be cool. If I buy that I'll probably sell the Paiste and maybe add something else. So anyways do you guys have any suggestions/opinions on new cymbals or the ones I mentioned.

-Fish

Red Menace

Platinum Member
Well if it were me, I would keep an eye on the used cymbal selection within a 100-150 mile radius on their website and pounce on whichever beauty caught my eye. I recently scored a 16" Stage Crash to complete my big hi hat set and a 21" Groove Ride.

With the Groove ride, I came to the store and asked to see it before they had even put it out on the floor. The trick is to keep an eye on their website every few days for new finds. If you see something you really want you can even have it shipped to your local store for a little extra.

bonerpizza

Silver Member
I'd personally get rid of the Paiste Prototype and get a 21" Sabian Bash Ride, 21" or 23" Zildjian Sweet Ride if you want a bigger crashable ride cymbal, Sabian also makes a 24" Bash Ride but I think the 21" would fit better with your 18" Freq Crash.

FritzDrummer