Exercises for Drum Set mobility

lxh039

I've been drumming for a few years now, but I've never had an instructor. Most of my practice materials come from the exercises in Stick Control and A Funky Primer. This has been great for developing my skills on the snare and for bass drum independence, but once I start trying to improv fills and move my grooves onto the toms, I go full retarded. :) Can anyone recommend a good, classic instructional book with exercises for improving mobility around the set? Thanks ahead of time.

Magenta

Platinum Member
Re: Good exercises for developing mobility around the set?

"Drum Set Warm-ups" by Rod Morgenstein. Helps you to feel more comfortable and more fluid around the kit. I noticed a big difference very quickly, and other people remarked how much more relaxed I looked once I started using it.

mandrew

Gold Member

I agree with the previous comment, and would also suggest using stick control and spreading those exersizes over a wider range. Spread it to two, then three, etc.

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member

Take some of the patterns from stick control, and apply them around the kit.

TheDrumster

"Drum Set Warm-ups" by Rod Morgenstein. Helps you to feel more comfortable and more fluid around the kit. I noticed a big difference very quickly, and other people remarked how much more relaxed I looked once I started using it.
+1

Excellent book.

Hewitt2

Take some of the patterns from stick control, and apply them around the kit.
+1. It's no exaggeration to state that stick control has all you will ever really need (hands, feet, accents, etc.). It's one heck of an investment for $10!

lsits

Gold Member