Every tempo (bpm) feels slightly different

Rock Salad

Like a self taught dummy, I had been practicing basically three tempos and for long stretches. (40, 100, 135) Thinking that I was covering my bases with that range, and wondering why my natural sense of time seemed to be confused.
Well duh, each little increment of tempo change feels different and demands changes in technique.
So, now I am hopefully on the right path making small barely noticeable changes to the clicker every few minutes.
Thanks to D.W. and I'm sorry I don't remember the individual who posted but thanks

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
Tip of the ice-berg brother. Every style can also feel different and you'll also find that musicians aren't typically as uh, accurate as a click!

I like to make sure I play around with music in lots of tempo and style ranges, so thumbs up from me on this one. Pick a style you've never played before and give it a go!

NouveauCliche

Like a self taught dummy, I had been practicing basically three tempos and for long stretches. (40, 100, 135) Thinking that I was covering my bases with that range, and wondering why my natural sense of time seemed to be confused.
Well duh, each little increment of tempo change feels different and demands changes in technique.
So, now I am hopefully on the right path making small barely noticeable changes to the clicker every few minutes.
Thanks to D.W. and I'm sorry I don't remember the individual who posted but thanks
One thing I did wayyyy back in the day was pick a beat - then play it at whatever starting tempo (100 just for example) - play it for a minute or two at that tempo - then gradually increase it. 100 to 102, etc. all the way up to something like 150 - for that very same reason. The same notes can sound and feel massively different at 100 v. 114, etc.

Metronomes can be fun!!

C.M. Jones