Entry into rudiments.

Hey gang,

So I've been thinking about this topic for awhile and I thought I'd run it by you. I'm 23 years old, been drumming off and on since my early teens. I've played on a few different albums and played in a house band for a few years off and on. I think I'm a decent drummer but I also acknowledge the fact that I'm not great. I took lessons from 12yrs old to about 17. I can hold time and play solid grooves, but I don't play anything too complex.

One of the issues I've ran into is my inability to play rudiments. When I took lessons, my teacher gave them to me. That was it. We never practiced them but I knew they existed. It wasn't until recently that I realized how much I needed them.

So my question is what is a good routine to get into them? How did you start? How do you learn to develop speed with them? I started working on paradiddles a month ago and am very confident with them. I can play them with ease, but I've struggled to play double stroke rolls or six stroke rolls. A lot of this is because my off hand is fairly weak. I think that will improve as I work on rudiments, but what are some drills you guys practiced to improve your off hand?

-Fish

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
So my question is what is a good routine to get into them? How did you start? How do you learn to develop speed with them? I started working on paradiddles a month ago and am very confident with them. I can play them with ease, but I've struggled to play double stroke rolls or six stroke rolls. A lot of this is because my off hand is fairly weak. I think that will improve as I work on rudiments, but what are some drills you guys practiced to improve your off hand?

-Fish