Electric drums question

HeadBasha

Hello, this is my first time posting on the forums so let me introduce myself. My name is blaze, I live in toronto and I've been drumming for somewhere around 12 years. I'm originally from small time ontario and as such I was miles away from neighbours and I could practice and rehearse untill I died from exhaustion and I would never get a complaint.

Now I go to university and just rented out a new apartment and I'm starting to run into neighbour problems. I consider myself a nice guy and I don't want to upset people around me because they pay their rent to and have a right to peace and quiet.
So i want to get an electric kit to practice. Basically my problem is choosing what heads I would want on a kit. I'm an extremely hard hitter and whatever genre I play in I ussually have sticks a size or two bigger then the average. My technique is mostly self taught and I use my entire body to play the drums. I find it to be a binding experience between instrument and player when every beat causes a similiar movement from your feet up to your head.

I've been reading alot of stuff about electric drums and it seems that mesh heads are rather fragile and break easy and that plastic heads loose there "realistic" drum feel when you play to hard. So I just wanted to get opinions on which would be better for a hard hitting drummer.
Are mesh heads really that fragile or will they last around the same time as skins (1 year to 3 years). They are more expensive to replace but also I was wondering when, or if, they ever become dead. I replace my skins at least twice a year otherwise they don't vibrate as well as they should and the sound and feel of them lessens. Do mesh skins do the same thing?

I assume rubber pads will never break (unless you play so fast u melt the rubber :p haha ) but I've also heard alot of people say they don't feel real if you hit really hard.
I also use alot of fast double roll fills. How do they feel on electric heads?