DW Design Series vs. Gretsch Renown

cdhenders1024

Hi folks,

First post here, and I am looking for a bit of advice. I know there is a great deal of information out there on both of these kits, and I'm sure many will say it just comes down to personal taste. However, it'd be great to hear any advice or insight you may have regarding the DW Design Series and/or the Gretsch Renown maple shells.

I'm looking to get back into drumming after letting it drop off a bit while I've been focusing on grad school for the past 4 years. I have a pretty versatile background and have played jazz, blues, funk, reggae, rock, and country in various settings since I was in junior high school (so roughly 20 years). I would put myself at an intermediate level of skill, but I aim to be as professional as possible in attitude. I've played many bar gigs and a few festivals, and done some recording in the past. Looking for my new kit, I want something I can continue to grow into instead of worrying about growing out of.

This is why I've narrowed it down to either the DW Design or Renown shells. They fit my budget (around $1500) and are both high quality maple shells. They both seem to fit a wide variety of playing styles and genres. They are both essentially the same price right now on Sweetwater. The DW's come with a snare, and the Renowns do not (though they are a couple hundred bucks cheaper, which essentially makes it a wash when factoring in a snare price).

Any thoughts? I'd consider buying used, but that takes the option of financing off the table. Thanks in advance

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
I've not played either, but I seem to hear a lot more positive feedback about the Renowns than I do the DW Design series.

I'm sure more people with better experience will show up soon. :)

cdhenders1024