Dry vs. Wet Sound

CreeplyTuna

Silver Member
I'm just curious: What is the difference between Dry sounding drums and Wet sounding drums? I just never heard those terms before I joined the forum.

tard

Gold Member
I agree with both. I personally like my snare dry unless the song I am covering actually needs it to be wet, in which case I remove the aquarian studio ring / remo 0 which adds a little "ing" to the sound, and being a singer as well as a drummer I like my monitor mix to be wet with a little reverb and delay on my vocals..

Last edited:

edvia

Au contraire, mes amis. "Wet" is generally used to describe a certain kind of attack you hear from the tom, that sort of reminds me of slapping the surface of water. These are usually caused more by the head and tuning than by the tom itself. The most prominent example of a wet tom sound would come from a clear 2-ply head at low to medium tuning (especially an Evans Hydraulic head). The rest of the note may or may not have a lot of overtones, it's the initial attack that makes a tom sound "wet".

"Dry" on the other hand is not the opposite of wet in this case. It's sort of like what caddywumpus said, meaning the lack of a significant amount of overtones, and usually accompanied by a short sustain. However Bo is also correct in that dry has a different meaning in the studio, i.e. the lack of effects ("recording the drums dry" as they say).

Hope this helps.

KBadd

Silver Member
Hey all! I turned 50 a few weeks back. Through the years I have heard "Dry, crack, washy, ping, boom, thud, whack, tommm, splash, ding, trashy, ring, pop, 'dome', but I have never heard wet before. Am I alone?

D

Doctor Dirt

Effects on ==Wet!!! Effects off==Dry. Never heard the expression dry to be about muting drums with rings or gells. In the studio or live wet is about the use of any effects. What others are talking about are "overtones" and that has to do with an individuals drum decay time, thats all. Doc

tard

Gold Member