Drummer software

GCRoberts

I'm a first year drummer and I've been looking for drum software where I can enter in drum notation and play it back repeatedly. I'd like to do this for my ear training, and also to play along with software. I've had decent success using musescore, but I've hit a wall with their drum kit editing. I have a 3up/3down kit, so that obviously makes drum notation a little more complicated. Musescore doesn't support the concept of a "drum legend". Musescore does have drum editing, but it's not allowing me to add new toms and chose the tuning of those toms. My toms (8",10",12",14",16",18") are tuned to intervals of major thirds (3G, 3D#, 2B, 2G, 2D#, 1B). Is there are other software out there....free or reasonably priced that would allow me to play back my drum notation using a non-standard setup? I'm not concerned about the software playing back pre-recorded drum sounds, midi representation is fine.

Seafroggys

Silver Member
Pretty much any composition software will do this, doesn't need to be specialized drum software. I have Sibelius, but before I bought that I used Melody/Harmony Assistant, and before that I used this old version of Cakewalk Sonar (it was cracked), and prior to that I used the freeware Anvil Studios.

Freeware wise, I heard Musescore is a decent alternative, but I have no personal experience in it.

brentcn

Platinum Member
You're asking for some super advanced features. Even the best programs like Sibelius and Finale don't have the features you want. You probably should just notate it on Musescore or whatever, without worrying about the note heads or sounds, and then export the MIDI file. Then, assign different sounds to each MIDI note, from a software drum machine that has enough toms to choose from. If you were using audio editing software that has some pitch manipulation, then you could pitch the toms up or down until they came close to the notes you want.