Drum Lesson Fee? How much is "high"?

OrangeAgent27

Silver Member
Hello all,

So today I signed up for lessons at my local music shop and was a little put-off by the cost. I was just curious of what you thought of these particular rates, as I have no experience with it.

http://www.rocketeria.biz/instructors.aspx

The cost was $35 for a half hour. I've supplied the Bio's of the teachers at the store and they look pretty good, and admittedly, I don't know which one I'll be practicing with. However, I seem to recall over the summer seeing rates more like $35 for an hour. Either way, just curious about your thoughts on this. Thanks!

OrangeAgent27

Silver Member
Not sure what happened, but part of my post was deleted. Anyhow, the link is the instructors Bio's.

Your rates seem more reasonable to me. I wish I could go there, but it's a little ways away.

caddywumpus

Platinum Member
Depends on the part of town, whether it's through a school or music shop, and the credentials of the teacher. Lessons "downtown" are usually higher, as are with teachers who have to "rent" a space, and also with instructors who are famous or have degrees. The reality, though, is that teachers can charge whatever they want, and it's up to you as the consumer to decide whether or not the price is too steep to be worth it.

bigd

Silver Member
Seriously those teachers are worth maybe $20 per hour. I wouldn't pay $35 for them. I pay less per hour for my son to study with a full professor with a doctorate and degrees from North Texas and Eastman as well as a full time professional orchestral player with degrees from Oregon and Indiana. Keep looking.

OrangeAgent27

Silver Member