Drum De-Tuning and perhaps a Gretsch Secret

NouveauCliche

Hey all - I've been rolling with my Brooklyn's now for a couple years and I've noticed one problem with the toms.

I find that my toms - especially my rack toms have a tendency to de-tune. Each show really requires a check of the tuning around the whole kit just to make sure I'm sounding ok for the set.

Not sure if you folks have recommendations on this - different washers...some gadgets, etc? So maybe just a de-tuning general thread.

My other thought is two fold. Perhaps the reason the high end Grestch kits come with the RIMS style mount is to help alleviate this problem - especially with the 5 lug design.

The lugs that de-tune the most are the two that are closest to the tom holder and I switched to the style of bracket from the renown series vs. the RIMS style mount.

So I'm wondering if my particular problem is something Gretsch might be aware of on some level and had alleviated by going to the RIMS mount - then I just un-did all their work.

Maybe just some conspiracy theory play at work haha.

larryace

"Uncle Larry" - Administrator
Staff member
Canopus bolt tight leather washers might be a solution. That's their main purpose, tight bolts.

Drums that have a lot of shell resonance detune quickly. My solid shell toms detune easy. I'd say it's a good sign that your shells are contributing heavily to the tone, but it is still a pesky problem.

Ransan

Not a Gretsch guy, but don’t Brooks come with 302s?

That would be glaring to me initially, for having a tom that doesn’t hold.

With the things you mentioned, I’m surprised they came with those types of mounts for a heritage kit, or did you add those?

3 plies maple/pop/maple I imagine it sounds open and very vintage-y.

That could be a good reason why they cast almost all their shells… if so, give that a try?

If I remember correctly don’t you have a Renown you can swap rims temporarily with?

NouveauCliche