Drum Beats in Church Songs

Hi All,

I am new to the forum. I started playing drums a few years ago, and keep progressing. I taught myself by using Drumeo. Play for my church now and do small gigs. This question might sound simple, but I am really trying to find out.

I can play 1&2&3&4& beats quite well when the snare hits on 2 and 4 beat. I can play this in different BPM and with different fills/rolls. I do not play by reading music really, mostly by ear.

Here is my question:

What are other very common beats that I should know? If any of you church drummers can give me some advice, would greatly appreciate it.

Do many songs play snare on 1 and 3 beat?

Last edited:

JustJames

Platinum Member
Hi All,

Do many songs play snare on 1 and 3 beat?
Only if you have an audience full of people who clap on 1 and 3.

I'm an atheist, so be very careful playing any of these beats in a church, as I don't know what would happen. :)

The simplest way to spice up your grooves is to add some "ands" to the kick.

Try kick on 1...AND-3 or 1...3-AND for starters.

KamaK

Platinum Member
That's a difficult to answer because, there is a whole world of beats that aren't simple KSKS, and there's an entirely different world of churches with varying musical genres.

Have you given consideration to undertaking a straightforward/traditional academic approach to the instrument? I started a 38, and it's been a lot of fun so far.

That's a difficult to answer because, there is a whole world of beats that aren't simple KSKS, and there's an entirely different world of churches with varying musical genres.

Have you given consideration to undertaking a straightforward/traditional academic approach to the instrument? I started a 38, and it's been a lot of fun so far.