Dodgy kick technique

Durbs

So I've always had issues with my kick drum technique, but it's quite hard to pin down.
It's entirely possible it's mental, but interested to hear if anyone's got any thoughts or advice.

Generally, I'm a solid drummer - not overly flashy, my hand speed and rudiments are good, graduated music college etc.

But there's some situations where my right food just doesn't behave.

For example, the Creep / Walk This Way rhythm. Sometimes I nail it, others, I just can't get my foot to do what it needs to do. The three hits at the end (a..3+) just either miss the beat, or sometimes don't even connect.

This is utterly regardless of tempo, and it's not consistent either.
Some days or on some kits, it'll be super easy, others it's like I'm playing drums for the first time.

Bonham-triplets too; xoo xoo xoo xoo
Urgh, somedays they're fine, others neither kicks hit, or I get a horrendous one-footed failed buzz-roll on the kick.

I used to play heel-down, I kind of switch it up a bit, but certainly live I play mostly heel-up.
It's possible it's just weak muscles, but given I've been playing kit for 20 years, and am also a keen climber (and previously dancing too), I feel my calves and ankles should have the strength for it.

I've tried drills, 15-20 minutes of just working the same patterns, doesn't appear to make a difference. They still mostly suck.
Then randomly one day they'll be perfect.

It's not even a speed thing, I can play quicker sixteenths (off the top of my head; the chorus of My Friend's Over You...) fine. Equally the Immigrant Song, no issues.

My theory is it's either mental (over thinking it), or there's something basic which isn't consistently done in certain phrases.
Whether this is relaxing between strokes, or prepping the foot in time.
No idea.

Any help wanted!

cornelius

Silver Member