Do you think I can make a college drumline?

DelcoBaseballStar

Hey guys! This is my first thread on this forum (and first thread period!). Well I'm now a senior in high school, and I've decided that I want to play in a college drumline. Here are the college marching bands that I want to play in:

-The Penn State Blue Band
-The University of Delaware marching band
-The Mighty Sound of Maryland (University of Maryland)
-The Temple University Diamond Band

Here's why I'm wondering:

-I know most of the rudiments by heart
-I know all four rudimental groups (Rolls, Diddles, Flam Rudiments, and Drag Rudiments)
-I can't mark time and play at the same time
-I'm still learning traditional grip
-I'm having trouble with the triple stroke roll and inverted flam taps

...So what do you think my chances of making a college drumline are?

tamadrm

Platinum Member
Well,two things.Do you play in a drum line now?If so,I assume your director could make a more accurate evaluation.If your a newbie,as I suspect,you as they say,have bigger fish to fry.As a senior who lives in PA.your sights should be set on Penn State,for a few reason,beyond drumming.

One of my daughters went to Penn State,so I know its a great school,in one of the safest towns on earth.You can major in quite a variety of subjects,and as a state resident,your tuition is half of what an out of stater pays.

Its also not an easy school to get into,as most good schools are,so extraciricular school activities,and community service are actually required of candidates,

I know you may love drumming,but your talking about higher education,and the rest of your life.I may be wrong,but I haven't heard of anyone earning a living playing in a drum line.I'm not trying to dash your dreans here,but you should make your school selection,based on a different criteria.Best hopes and wishes.:)

Steve B

DelcoBaseballStar