Do You Always Count?

ZenR1

Do you always count every single beat, fill, whatsoever any and every time you play or listen to any drumming? Do you automatically hear everything in 1 + 2 e + a 3 + 4 e + a etc?

Last edited:

ZenR1

So I'm a beginner on this journey. When do you stop having to count it all out? Sometimes I feel like it's interfering with actually hearing/feeling the rythm.

SomeBadDrummer

Do you always count every single beat, fill, whatsoever any and every time you listen to any drumming? Do you automatically hear everything in 1 + 2 e + a 3 + 4 e + a etc?
I never hear anything in those terms, or count; it’s all about feeling. Although if reading unfamiliar tunes from a chart or sheet music it might be helpful. It might depend on the music you’re playing... But that’s just me, some bad drummer.

C.M. Jones

So I'm a beginner on this journey. When do you stop having to count it all out? Sometimes I feel like it's interfering with actually hearing/feeling the rythm.
As you gain experience, you'll develop an internal, immaterial, non-intellective sense of rhythm and timing that will permeate your drumming in every way. The interpretation and execution of beats will become automatic -- almost involuntary, similar to breathing. In the meantime, don't worry about it. Just keep playing.

Last edited:

crash

Yes. I count just about everything I play. I don't get into counting subdivisions, that's just busy work. Counting helps me keep time better. When things were open, I played in a big jazz band, everything was charted. So it was easy to count the beats.

ZenR1

As you gain experience, you'll develop and internal, immaterial, non-intellective sense of rhythm and timing that will permeate your drumming in every way. The interpretation and execution of beats will become automatic -- almost involuntary, similar to breathing. In the meantime, don't worry about it. Just keep playing.