Did you have to grow to like your Paiste sound edges?

Road Bull

Silver Member
So I recently picked up some SWEET Paiste 2002s here and there, and they have taken over cymbal duty on my kit. I have acquired a 22" Crash, a 24" Ride, and a 24" Al's Big Ride (crash). I couldn't be much happier with those cymbals.

I have been thinking about picking up some Paiste hats though. Now, I know they have tons of people playing them and they sound great on recordings. My questions is did they sound like "the ones" when you first hit them?

My background is Zildjian and New Beats in the hat department. I love them but have been thinking about finding a good set of Paiste hats to change it up. I was surprised the first time I hit 14", and even 15" 2002 Sound Edges. They sounded a lot lighter, and fairly thin. I think in the MIX, other recordings, they sound great and don't stick out as being thin at all. I remember reading somewhere, and experiencing, that some things that don't sound great from the throne, sound great out away from the kit. Keep in mind that I am not saying that they don't sound "great" or anything. I am just interested in what the community's experience happened to be.

I have been listening to lots of Paiste sound clips on their website. I have been going back and forth between the Signatures and different Sound Edges. I sort of liked some of the Wild Hats, but am not sure if they would be as flexible with subtleties as some of Paiste's other offerings. They have a super nice trashy sound when sloshing, but they may be a little focused on what they do well to cover my other sounds that I am looking for.

So what Sound Edge Paiste hats do you have and why?

Thanks for reading,

-RB

opentune

Platinum Member
Wow those are all big cymbals