Depression and drumming

rmac86

Been playing for about 20 years now and have played with my share of great and terrible musicians. I was forced to move out of my family home, country and regular gigging circuit due to a brother that has insecurities and basically ruined my musical reputation by telling people I was an inadequate musician and a liability. Now I’ve moved home and found the exact same thing going on.

I thought I left my last band on good terms but now I find they are spreading untrue rumours about me being unfit to play and dangerous, despite the instigator of this being an extreme secret alcoholic and a father to 2 kids he doesn’t have any interest in.

Basically this isn’t helping with my severe depression, I tried drumming as a comfort and expressive tool (I need to create constantly) but feel the world doesn’t want me to do this for some reason?

Anyone out there feel the same way?

JJKK

I'm working through depression and other stuff through drumming. When I really nail parts of some songs despite having the shittiest conditions imaginable, it really makes my day.

That means it's working for me. I have chaos all around me and drumming is my North Star right now.

rhumbagirl

I’ve been playing non-professionally for most of my 53 yrs, with a renewed interest at age 40 when I hit that midlife crisis. I can’t speak to depression, but I know how uplifting it can feel to see yourself getting better through steady practice. On the other side, drumming itself - or rather the world around drumming - usually has some really low points:

The midlife crisis for the amateur who suddenly finds him/herself halfway to the grave without having accomplished playing that dream show in front of thousands at a concert venue.