Dave Abbruzzese

Just lately, I have been listening to some of my favourite 90's albums - one of which is 'Vs.' by Pearl Jam. For me, this album was all about the drumming and the solid sound of those DW drums and bright crisp sound of the Sabian cymbals.

Like many drummers visiting this forum, I started playing in the early-to-mid 90's and around that time I was massively blown away by Dave Abbruzzese unique solid drumming style - double stroke grooves on the bass drum and his amazing cymbal wizardry was all very classy!!!

Which leads me on to the following - It was a huge shame that DA was not nominated with the rest of Pearl Jam for the Hall of Fame earlier this year. He played a huge integral part in the bands success during the explosive era which got Pearl Jam where they are today, so for him to not get the recognition for his contribution was a great shame and in my opinion, this should have been challenged!

That said, DA has done a number of awesome projects since his PJ days and I have seen lately that he did do some studio work with Peter Cornell (Chris Cornell's brother *RIP*) and the album 'Champion' is available on iTunes and YouTube etc... For any Abbruzzese fans out there, this album is well worth a listen!!

Anyway, I suppose I just wanted to make a post about this amazing drummer. Credit given where credit is due and all that!

His unique style was 'and still is' very much a huge influence to me and I'm sure many others out there!

Cheers all :)

Miles.

Last edited:

Armor of Light

Agree 100%.
Very fine drummer, and a swell guy.
Way back in early internet times, I had the pleasure of chatting with him. He sent me a cassette tape (!) of his post-PJ project "Green Romance Orchestra". Quite good. I have since lost it, but...it sure would be nice to find it somewhere!

Rochelle Rochelle

Always loved Dave. As a huge PJ fan, I've always thought he was the best drummer they have had. I love Matt Cameron but he fit Soundgarden much better than PJ.