Dafnis Prieto Clinic at The Long Island Drum Center

Deltadrummer

Platinum Member
Not unlike your hometown, Long Island can be one of the dullest place in the world. But thankfully once in a while we do get to see some real talent. Seeing Dafnis Prieto at The Long Island Drum Center was one of those times. Dafnis is a drummer you can sit and listen to play and not get bored. If you ever doubted that the drum set were a self-contained musical instrument, doubt no more.

Though from Cuba, Dafnis has an extensive background in classical percussion and is self-taught on the drum set. He says,"that gave me the freedom to do what ever I wanted." And that he certainly does. He approaches the drum set as a classical percussionist would approach it. You can check out his CD "Taking the Soul for A Walk" and see how his drumming never interferes with the texture of the music, but its always a part of what is happening. Dafnis' strength is that although he has good chops and great coordination; his playing is never about showing off his technical prowess. He talked extensively about how he utilizes what he knows for the expression of the music. His dictum is "the rhythm is not the music." If you have a technique, a rudiment, like the paradiddle, a rhythm or a beat, he asks "What do you do with that?" That is the music."

The way you use these ideas expresses your unique approach to the drum set. The creative manipulation and variation that he used was stunning to say the least. The highlight of the clinic, for me, was one Dafnis took a basic guaguanco melody, and used as an ostinato to hold together a drum solo. This melodic idea became the theme for improvisation and creation, as each idea grew from the melody and came back to it. This was an excellent example of "how to perform a drum solo,"