Crash/Ride what's the point?

thelimpingtoad

Okay... i've been playing for about 15 years and I have never quite understood what the point of a crash/ride is... i have always had a crash... and a ride...
My thought on the subject was that this was a type of cymbal you get with your starter set just so your parents, or you, only have to buy one cymbal instead of 2... but i'm wondering if this is incorrect.
When i got my kit... that was my concept so i got a single large crash for it until i could afford a ride... a few months later I got a ride... and I've never had one of these crash/rides.
If someone could clarify for me what exactly the point is... instead of just having a crash and a ride... that would be spectactular.

justjim

:D

I'm not even sure we should call them (starter kit) "cymbals" - more like placeholders for cymbals

but anyway, I think one way to approach the thinking about a crash/ride is "-able" or maybe "friendly"

a ride cymbal that is (reasonably) crashABLE or a crash that is ride FRIENDLY (and I think that sort of a whole continuum of behavior)

So, in that mode of thought, what we are really talking about is performance in that transitional area...say where you are aggressively accenting a ride pattern by, essentially, crashing the accents or or "playing into a crash" with mult-stroke pattern -- generally where you want to straddle the line, but keep things tonally cohesive by having things happen on the same instrument (the one cymbal)

Think about it like a sportscar -- it's not a touring car with a smooth, comfortable ride for the duration - a boulevard ride...and it's not a racecar that is extremely fast on the track, but has improper spring rates, ground clearance, etc for the street
it's a sports car -- it is relatively nimble, responds well to aggressive technique, but is also decently well behaved, smooth and flexible enough to ride on the street.

Drums&Beer