Crash Ride position.

\o/

Hi, i'm fairly new to drumming and have been playing on a kit at uni. I finally have my own kit, which came without cymbals. I have bought a crash/ride for it. My question is, what position should i put this in? On the left of the rack toms like a ride (i'm left handed) or on the right in normal crash position? Or is it purely a matter of preference? Bear in mind that i want it to feel comfortable when i eventually add more cymbals.

Duracell

You place it somewhere it's easy to reach and where you don't run the risk of bumping into anything else. If you're not sure just try out various positions. Most drummers never seem to stop optimizing their kit layout.

If I were you though I'd try left of the rack toms or somewhere around the floor tom. Or (and this is what I do) remove the mid tom and put the ride right over the bassdrum. Most comfortable spot for me.

\o/

You place it somewhere it's easy to reach and where you don't run the risk of bumping into anything else. If you're not sure just try out various positions. Most drummers never seem to stop optimizing their kit layout.

If I were you though I'd try left of the rack toms or somewhere around the floor tom. Or (and this is what I do) remove the mid tom and put the ride right over the bassdrum. Most comfortable spot for me.
Thanks for that, i was more wondering about the usage of it - maybe i didn't make that clear! What i mean is because it's a ride/crash and not just a normal ride or crash on its own, would its main purpose be as a crash, therefore i'd put it in the standard crash position??

Thanks again for your response.

Drumolator

Platinum Member