cracking cymbals

mxracer591

So, in the past few months, I've went through 2 china cymbals. The first was a 18' A custom, which lasted me for a few years, but not playing all the time. After I started playing with my band for awhile, and playing more then just every once in awhile, I cracked it after about 6 months. With it costing about $280, I was quite upset about this. I tried to find something to fit my taste, but somewhat cheap, because funding is an issue. I found a 18' regular A china high for $50 on craigslist. It looked like the guy had used it maybe twice, so I figured it was a good deal. Here it is 2 months later, and it has a crack in it. I have a video recorded from behind my drums, so you guys can check out my technique when I hit it. Any other advice would be appreciated too, I know I'm not the best, but I'm working on it. the link is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D01zqEQkjlE

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
I don't like the whole china concept anymore. They're too quiet for their size, you have to hit them in a place that's awkward for your stick and for the life of the cymbal and I always wonder of the next hit will be the last (and I'm no thrasher). Chinas are stupid.

I think effects cymbals like the ozone, or those meinl things are the go. Or get a few circular holes cut into an old crash. Much better IMO.

MattA

I have my china set up at more of an angle and try to strike it with more of a glancing stroke.

Haven't cracked one yet.

toddbishop

Platinum Member
I don't like the whole china concept anymore. They're too quiet for their size....
That's the first time I've ever heard that said. Everyone else seems to think they cut like crazy. In the right setting you can wipe out the band with one.