Cocktail Kits. Why??

single-ply

Someone explain to me why anyone would want to own and play a cocktail kit.

You have to stand (basically balance on one leg) for the gig, you have no control of your hi hat, you play one of those BS 12" snares, and the load-in is still at least 70% of a small cafe kit.

I've never understood the allure. It seems IMHO, to be a bad idea that won't die.

OldReliable

I’m with you, I don’t like em either! I’d much rather play something like an Odery Cafekit instead of one of those cocktail kits.

Rattlin' Bones

Gold Member
I was with ya until you dissed 12" snares. I've been using 12" snares for a few years now behind all my kits (none"cocktail" kits). I like the extra 2" of maneuverability they give me. And mine sound great. Right now I use a Tama and a Pork Pie. They ain't BS.

Someone explain to me why anyone would want to own and play a cocktail kit.

You have to stand (basically balance on one leg) for the gig, you have no control of your hi hat, you play one of those BS 12" snares, and the load-in is still at least 70% of a small cafe kit.

I've never understood the allure. It seems IMHO, to be a bad idea that won't die.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
Cocktail kits evolved at a time when restaurants had live music, but not much space for the band. An 'upright' kit was the solution, and they were catalog items for every drum company through the mid-'60s.

With the resurgence of bop kits, cocktail kits made a curious return. I doubt it was for space reasons, perhaps it's just a retro thing?

Bermuda

single-ply

I was with ya until you dissed 12" snares. I've been using 12" snares for a few years now behind all my kits (none"cocktail" kits). I like the extra 2" of maneuverability they give me. And mine sound great. Right now I use a Tama and a Pork Pie. They ain't BS.
Sorry Rattlin' Bones! I could have better chosen my words. Different strokes...