Can I drum with backing tracks and not lose my hearing?

AndeeT

I've been drumming with in-ear-monitors for four years now and my hearing is slowly, but surely getting worse.

I've been extremely careful since age 14 (now 28), always wearing earplugs to band practice (was a guitarist back then) and to gigs and clubs. I started drums 6 years ago and started using in-ear monitors 4 years ago to play along with recorded music and click tracks.

My ears have always been sensitive but have always recovered from acute ringing.

Four years ago I purchased 1964 ears V2 custom moulded in-ear-monitors to play drums along to click-tracks and mp3's and after a year I noticed the beginnings of tinnitus when I went to bed. It got progressively worse until I ditched those in-ear monitors for some Shure ones (SE215). The Shure are universal and much cheaper in comparison to the 1964 ears but (in my opinion) isolate much better.

Unfortunately, my tinnitus is still progressing. I realise that it is progressive and irreversible disease/condition but I at least hoped I could make it not worsen.

Even with these professional monitors, I have always turned the music/click up much louder than when I am listening to music away from the drum kit. Otherwise I can't hear the music/click properly and fall out of time. This is no doubt the cause of my hearing problems.....but I figured that the was the best solution.....so others must be in my same position? I have even started wearing gun-muffs over the top of my in-ear monitors but this doesn't allow me to turn the volume down, sadly.

Is there a way to hear backing tracks and play drums, without having to turn up the volume? For everyday listening, my iphone is on the 'second' volume level (out of 16), if I am walking outside, and on 'one' out of 16 if I am at home and it is quiet. For playing drums to music, it needs to be on a minimum of 6 out of 16 and usually bumped up to 8 for quieter tracks.