Can Anyone Name This Black Panther Snare?

WolfLeBlack

Evening guys and gals,

I'm new to these here shiny forums, so before I get going on the details of this post, let me first say, HI EVERYONE! Everyone hear me? You in the back? Yeah? Good.

Anyway, I've been shopping around for a new snare drum as I'm currently using an ancient session pro kit and the snare is....well, poor. I've tuned it as best as I can manage, replaced the bottom with a hazy and the top with an Evans Genera HD Dry to eliminate as much of the overtones as possible as it's a metal drum and has a rather nasty ring to it. IN all honesty, while it doesn't sound the best, it's passable, but what can I say, the tempation to get something a bit nicer was just too much.

So after a while of thought I settled on something out of the Mapex Black Panther range, because they seemed to offer the best sound to money ratio going. Exactly which model of Black Panther, you ask? Well, mostly whatever popped up at a good price :p

And one did pop up! The problem is, I can't actually identify what damn model of Panther it is. It's simply listed as a Special Edition Walnut Black Panther, but the seller is offering no other details on it and I can't find anything on the net about it. Sadly, I've also not got the time to do an in-depth search to find out exactly what it is, so putting the question to you guys seemed to be the best option.

In short, can you name this Black Panther snare?

And if you can name it, can you also provide any other information on it. Better yet, if you've played it, can you offer up an opinion on how it sounds?

Thanks ya'll!

WolfLeBlack

I don't know where you bought it but that's a Mapex snare built for Thomann and all the relevant info is available on their site: http://www.thomann.de/nl/mapex_14x55_special_panther_maple.htm
I've not actually bought it yet. It has popped up on Ebay and I've been considering buying it.