Can a subpar hi-hat stand impede your hi-hat skill progression?

JDFaulky

Hey all, I'm new here and I'm fairly new to drumming. It's something I've been wanting to learn ever since I was a little kid but my family could not afford to buy a drum set for me back then. I'm 36 years old and just now finally picking it up and I'm obsessed and play every single day. I've been playing for a few months now and pretty much self taught. Been progressing really well but I still have a lot to learn, obviously.

I started out with a Pearl Roadshow 5 piece set. I replaced all of the drum heads with good Evans heads (Genera HD Dry on the snare, EMAD Heavyweight on the bass drum, EC2s on the toms). I bought new cymbals to replace the awful ones that came with the Roadshow set (I bought the Zildjian S series box set and splash). Cut a port hole in the base drum reso head and put a chrome ring kit around it to make it look cool. Added various cymbal stands and attachments, etc. Been spending cash trying to improve my set overall.

Even though I've been progressing well, one thing I struggle with is the hi-hats. I've played three different sets so far (crappy Pearl starter set, HCS Meinl set and now the Zildjian S set) and I do fine playing them closed, but when using techniques such as playing open hats, pressing down the pedal for chicks in the middle of grooves, etc, I seem to really struggle. I know I need to develop my left foot more, but I also feel like the hi-hat stand that came with the Pearl Roadshow may be impeding my progress. The pedal feels kinda stiff, there's no tension adjustment and I feel like part of the problem is this pedal. It doesn't help that there aren't a lot of good YouTube videos about hi-hat techniques and stand setups.