Can’t play heel up double bass anymore

sickpuppyseth

I’ve been playing drums for like 6/7 years. i’ve played in several heavier bands and always played very balanced fluent double bass. nothing too fast over 160 bpm. I played heel up and used a lot of my toe with very loose spring tension on iron cobras. For christmas i got an axis direct drive longboard double pedal and i’ve always wanted one. i was struggling to play double bass at first and my leg would twitch after trying to play a beat and start playing uncontrolled triplets almost. ive always played full leg heel up, and now when i try to do it i have absolutely no control and start automatically using my ankles. even when switching back to the iron cobras, i do the same thing. and now when i play also, i’m getting off balance, which has never happened before. i start leaning to the right. i’ve messed with all different combos of different spring tensions and seat heights. i even put my iron cobra springs on the axis. nothing has helped. like i said i’ve been playing for YEARS and have always been so consistent and good about faster mid tempo double bass parts. always like playing heel up because it cut through very well and sounded the best. please someone help and tell me what i’m doing wrong, i don’t even care about using the axis so much anymore, i just want to be able to play smooth double bass again like i have for years.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
ive always played full leg heel up, and now when i try to do it i have absolutely no control and start automatically using my ankles.
Your body wants you to start developing your ankle technique for more speed. 160 is about the transition point for switching between leg/ankle. It varies for everyone, but 160 is near that point.

Dont freak out about it. If you get it in your head that you cant do it anymore, you wont be able to. This is a normal growth hurdle for double kick.