Buying an e-kit piece by piece

Castell

Hi all

I'm a long time guitarist who decided to give learning drums a go. I live in an apartment building, so I can't get an acoustic drum kit. I've been looking at e-kits, and I understand that you probably get what you pay for in these instruments as well. But all the sub-1000$ kits seem to be pretty "big" kits, with three toms, several cymbals etc. What I wanted to ask is would it be possible (or a good idea) to buy a very basic kit of higher end models, to end up in the same sub-1000$ category. I'm thinking of just a bass drum, a snare and a hihat, to get started. Maybe one tom and a ride and a crash added later or something. Also what is the situation with the sound "engine" part; can you get it cheaper is it only has a few sounds? Does this make any sense? :) I really don't now anything about this, so I apologize if this is a silly question.

Thanks!

No Way Jose

Silver Member
I don't think the Yamaha electronic drum kits are big. You might look up the compact electronic drum kits such as the Yamaha dd75.

Even the inexpensive drum modules have about 20 to 40 drum kit sounds in them. You'll likely use two or 3 drum kit sounds.

If I was starting out I'd get drum sticks and a mouse pad and practice rudiments.

electrodrummer

No ekit is "big" - they can be made as "big" or small as you want. Nothing wrong with buying in bits, esp if you get 2nd hand. Note it's generally easiest (less faff!!) if you get gear from the same manufacturer (experiment later when you get used to drumming)

So- let's start with the usual daily questionnaire, before we can get into any specifics.

Usual daily response to this daily question.

1. Budget?
2. What have you played and enjoyed?
3. What features are you interested in?
4. Where are you?
5. ....and... budget ;)

To which I'll add...
  • Download and read the manuals of anything you're interested in to get a grip on usability and features.