Buddy rich Sticks

blinky

I bought a pair some time ago to try. Normally I play VF 5B double glaze and I wanted to check out the BR sticks since they are painted. They are a bit less sticky (I have very dry hands) compared to the double glaze, and feel much lighter. Nice sticks though!

gish

I’ve used them here and there but prefer a standard Vic 5B. I can tell you who has never used them; Buddy Rich.

markiet1966

I’ve been using them for the past 24 years, love them! Somewhere between a 5A and 5B and long, they just seem to be perfect for me.

John Q. Drummer

Loved them. Hated the white paint. I went to the Vater West Side.

I went through the same thing. My body chemistry and that darn white paint didn't mesh. Way too slippery for my hands. It forced me to have to grip the stick way too tightly, which is not conducive to relaxed, fluid playing. I also switched to the Vater West side for a little while, then I switched to a completely different brand and style of stick. All part of the journey.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
That's true, which makes you wonder where they came from.
I remember seeing pairs made by Ludwig and Slingerland back when Buddy played either brand, and the design looks a little consistent with regard to taper and bead. But in keeping with Buddy’s attitude about it, I don’t think he cared what stick he used. He didn’t really care about the drums either.

newoldie

Silver Member
Bought a pair a year ago and have been using them for practice since then, rotating them in with other sticks as well. They rebound quite well and have enough weight to offer a bit more workout than my other 5A weight sticks, but without straining my hands.

I also use them in jazz band where they can cut through and crash easily, but are still quite controllable.
Overall, nice addition to the sticks I use.

drumnut87

used to use them for a few years when i was using VFs. werent too bad a stick :)

ALotSirSwings