bringing a Ludwig bronze 332xxxx back to life

jermss9

20200704_110709.jpghello all. I recently bought a used Ludwig bronze supra and its not in the best shape. not quite sure the year i think 90s 20200704_110654.jpgits got a couple dents I'm gonna try to work out, would like to throw new hoops on, thinking die-cast but if anyone thinks that'd be a bad idea on an older bronze let me know. I'd like to throw a new p88 throw and some canopus wires on. I'm also considering just getting new lugs and letting the shell look dingy and pitted as I like the raw look of the newer ludwigs. any and all advice is welcomed and appreciated as this is my first time fixing one up and is also my first bronze snare.20200704_110718.jpg

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Wow that poor shell. Looks like someone tried to sand out some tarnishing. I hope you got a good deal on it.

I dont think you will ever return it to smooth. Maybe you can with enough sanding, I know nothing about sanding bronze (are you 100% sure?). If it was me, i would stick it on a turntable of sorts, spin it and use like 800 grit to give it a brushed look. At least then the scratches all go the same way.

Winston_Wolf

Platinum Member
I like die cast hoops so I wouldn't have any problem using them on a bronze shell snare. An S-Hoop is another great option that's quite a bit cheaper.

Before sanding I'd probably start with some metal polish (or even just some Groove Juice) to see how it looks free of tarnish. If you're not too worried about cosmetics that may be enough restoration. Also, the lugs may just have crud needing to be cleaned off and may not be all that pitted. Some chrome polish and a toothbrush should help figure that out.

The bronze Supra might be the best sounding snare drum so congrats on having one! :)

jermss9

I like die cast hoops so I wouldn't have any problem using them on a bronze shell snare. An S-Hoop is another great option that's quite a bit cheaper.