Bragging rights- triple threat!

Concrete Pete

Hey Crew,

As many of you remember, just 2-3 years (or so) ago I couldn't even sing while playing drums without one or the other suffering horribly. For the last year or more, I've been doing lead vox in two of my bands (while drumming), and not only comfortable with it, but have actually started to feel it's just "second nature". True- I'm still getting vocal coaching/lessons to improve (we ALL have room for improvement, folks!) and it's been just killer good.

OK, so most of ya'll remember that I've been playing harp (harmonica) for a few decades, and I finally decided to buy a cheapo neck rack (harp holder) from the local music store for a mere $8. Crap-tastic wire frame, NO padding where the harp goes, no frills, difficult to keep adjusted, and made in some 4th world country. (why would I buy a GOOD one for starters?)

Here's the good part- playing drums, doing lead (and b.u.) vox and playing harp came together so fast and naturally, it was actually SCARY. I did it at home a couple dozen times before "surprising" any of my band mates at formal rehearsals, and then just busted out with it at rehearsals for both my Classic Rock bands. Result? Dropped jaws, wide-eyed stares, funny (and not so funny) comments...

Started out with Sweet Home Alabama, went from there to La Grange, and it even progressed up to Whipping Post. (one of my MOST difficult tunes for drums & vox alone, but I can't do it verbatim)
The last few days, I got Train Train damn near down (Blackfoot) and am trying my best to steal lead guitar parts (solos & stuff) from our guitar players on other tunes. Believe it or not, 2 of my lead guitar players consider that a " make their job easier" kinda thing. Go figger...

I have MP3's I'll post here of me doing the Tx3 stuff, but the couple of vids we have of me doing the same won't be available for a few weeks.