Black Dot on Bass Drum?

MikeM

Platinum Member
Short answer: Yes!

I hadn't used one of these since sometime back in the '80s, and based on my observation of other drummers I see locally and here on DW, most probably have either never tried them or it's been a long time.

But I'm back to using them now and can't say enough good things about them.

It occurred to me to revisit these based on a couple revelations.

First, I've been using Black Dots on my toms for almost two years now and can't imagine using anything else at this point. They're my favorite head because they have such a strongly defined mid-forward presence. They also have a great feel under the stick with that reinforced center that seems to inhibit deflection so the stick comes right back at you instead of sinking into the head, which makes for tighter articulation for quicker figures and better control. Toms end up closing the feel gap with the snare and the whole kit plays more evenly.

Second, since I've been getting into bass playing more the last few years and discovering what others have already figured out for what makes a tone survive a full band mix, I've learned that there's a "bedroom tone" that many players dial in that sounds great in isolation, but unfortunately, it's a scooped tone where the EQ is set to a smiley face shape. The mids end up scooped out when the lows and highs are boosted and most that play in bands discover that scooping the mids leaves an ill-defined tone where high end clank and low end rumble dominate. As it turns out, it's the mids that make it though and are what makes for a pleasing sound that works in a mix, though it may not sound "right" in the bedroom. The take-away for me was to set the EQ somewhere between flat or a "frowny face" before striking up with the band. It really works and the same principal applies to drums.