Birch drums

drummingman

Gold Member
So I've been looking into getting a birch kit as of late. I'm looking at mid to upper mid level drums price wise. What are some good birch kits on the market right now from any brand? Sadly most birch kits that I have seen have been on the lower end. Honestly I'm surprised more companies are not offering mid level birch kits.

I've never owned a birch kit but everything I've read about them as really piqued my interest.

Jhostetler

Tama Silverstar is a pretty good kit for the money. I've got the 18" bass jazz version. Gretsch I think has a birch Catalina kit but I have no real experience with that one.

basset52

Yamaha Stage Custom are good value intermediate birch kits. I have an old 2009 set and just love them.
Cheers

Superman

Gold Member
Most people are going to tell you to get Stage Customs, and for $650 you are getting a great drum set. But you are correct, most of the current straight birch drums are intermediate or semi pro. I have 100% birch Starclassics and like them a lot. Tama stopped making straight birch SCs a few years back, but GC has a number of used ones for under a grand. If you are willing to go used, then that would be my best recommendation for an upper line birch kit. If you are looking new then I would probably go for the Stage Customs.

Last edited:

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
Most people are going to tell you to get Stage Customs, and for $650 you are getting a great drum set. But you are correct, most of the current straight birch drums are intermediate or semi pro. I have 100% birch Starclassics and like them a lot. Tama stopped making straight birch SCs a few years back, but GC has a number of used ones used for under a grand. If you are willing to go used, then that would be my best recommendation for an upper line birch kit. If you are looking new then I would probably go for the Stage Customs.
Agree. I would get used.

drummingman

Gold Member