best snare drum upgrade

decadeA

what would be the best snare drum to upgrade to from my pearl export snare? Are the sensitone series any good? Or should I consider a different brand?

decadeA

New heads. If you don't care for how it sounds, start there.
I have went through a few heads, I have been playing for 7 years at least but I have been playing on electric drums until 2 years ago. Now I have Remo ambassadors on all batter and reso heads on all my drums, apart from my 14” floor tom, which is an emperor and ambassador.

IBitePrettyHard

First, what's your budget?

Do you specifically want a wood or metal snare, or does it not matter?

Are you looking for any sound in particular, or just a good all-around snare?

makinao

Silver Member
I posted this on your other thread. I will add a Mapex Armory. All are 14" x 6.5", have 2.3mm triple-flanged hoops, 10 lugs, under 300 Euros, and are keepers.

There are other metals like aluminium and brass that have different characteristic sounds, but are considerably more expensive than steel. Each company has their own versions.

Last edited:

mrmike

Silver Member
Just get a Ludwig Supra aluminum or brass Black Beauty and be done with it. It's really what all other metal drums are compared to anyway. Having said that a 6.5x14 beaded brass Pearl Sensitone is a pretty good knock off of a black beauty.

Old Dog new Cans

Just get a Ludwig Supra aluminum or brass Black Beauty and be done with it. It's really what all other metal drums are compared to anyway. Having said that a 6.5x14 beaded brass Pearl Sensitone is a pretty good knock off of a black beauty.
I think it would depend on his budget. These aren't exactly inexpensive. You can find them nice used. The 2 he mentioned above are in the $200 range I think?

incrementalg

Gold Member