Best Kit for $2000

DenK

NewB Alert, sorry if this has been asked but did not see it.
After a long break in drumming, I am thinking about getting back into it.
I am thinking about spending $2000 total and will buy cymbals and hardware separate so looking for best bang for the buck on shells.
I know customizing is part of the fun, so looking for solid shells that I can build a kit around. Will be playing 70-80's rock mostly.
Was thinking Tama Starclassic Maple, but wanted to hear from you guys before making any decisions.

Woolwich

Silver Member
Hi DenK

The answer you usually get when asking about the best kit at given price point is that you'll end up more more confused by the replies than when you started. Aside from the absolute beginner rubbish which you can still find, once you're spending £400 upwards, then as long as you're comparing like with like there's nobody making inherently "bad" kits. Certainly by the time you're in $2000 territory it's almost literally down to colour preference and if certain brand qualities either speak or don't speak to you.
Perhaps the way forward is to think about what size of drums and configuration you want (i.e, how many mounted toms,how many floor toms) see what's available and then ask if the kit you're looking at is a bad idea, and what it is about the kit that appeals to you and are there other suggestions with the same qualities that are better made/better value etc.

incrementalg

Gold Member
Hi DenK

The answer you usually get when asking about the best kit at given price point is that you'll end up more more confused by the replies than when you started. Aside from the absolute beginner rubbish which you can still find, once you're spending £400 upwards, then as long as you're comparing like with like there's nobody making inherently "bad" kits. Certainly by the time you're in $2000 territory it's almost literally down to colour preference and if certain brand qualities either speak or don't speak to you.