believe it or not , 2 different open mics

bertdrums

i happend to be at two open mics, sunday 6 oct 2019
one in the afternoon one in the evening. the afternoon was more progreesive with no guide lines just pick a tune and play, so i was asked what to play and i chose "mary had a little lamb", the players pulled out here tablets, looked it up and we played it for about 15 minutes.
Later that evening at a blues open mic, "my fault" i asked to play a song most people heard but didnt play themselves, "bad feeling" by Dave Meniketi of Y n T.. Surprising i was found resistance by people who only play their material and as a drummer i was told to hum it or produce the sheet music and play it on a guitar for them.....i told them all i wanted was the same consideration they gave other musicians as a drummer and i was laughed at . One person said they were sorry but still had no intention of playing the song, i had no one say that they understood , except one drummer.
What do you think

makinao

Silver Member
The afternoon guys are prepared. In the old days, at least one would have come with a fake/real book. Kids nowadays all have their own iPads filled with scores. And if they dont have a song, they can just google it. The evening guys are just lazy.

Alex Sanguinetti

Silver Member
Later that evening at a blues open mic, "my fault" i asked to play a song most people heard but didnt play themselves, "bad feeling" by Dave Meniketi of Y n T..
I never heard that "song", anyway, I just listened to it at Youtube, and is a simple (rock) blues, wouldn´t be the same to you to play any blues at the same tempo? You could have say to them "I would like to play any straight blues at this tempo (making some kind of counting in front of them)".

YOUR TUNE: