beginner tips for double bass

klopee

Iv been drumming for around 11 years, but havent done much double pedal, and im pretty aweful at it. im good with my individual legs, but when i put them together, i can get a groove... and to make matters worse, i live in an apartment, so im going to have to buy a bass drum practice pad in order to get some practicing in (i have a backup double pedal that stays home)

any good dvds, or websites or whathaveyou that will give me completely beginner tips on how to go about getting into the groove of double pedaling?

thanks
-Matt

Bol-D

a good way to get it smooth is to do rigaments and paraddidls that you do with your hands but with the double bass instead. pretty much the same thing really just using legs and feet instead of arms and hands :)

(sorry for my incorrect spelling, feel free to spell check me)

I'm not very good at double pedal yet but if you tighten the bass drum head a lot and put in a whole ton of pillows and blankets in the bass drum that helps a lot.

MaT

My advise: metronome, 16th notes, start slow (at least 80bpm) and work your way up increasing the bpms by 5.

Trust me, it might feel strange to play slow at the beginning, and you'll feel more comfortable and balanced when reaching 100 or 110 bpm, but slow tempo will give you accuracy.

Also, usually people tries to get to fast tempos very quickly, if you practice steady, let's say 100 bars starting in 80 and increasing by 5 bpm, you'll be preparing for higher speeds because remember, propably you'll not be playing double bass constantly for that much time in a song.

So, as long as you practice steady, your feet will respond when you need them in a song, but it takes time.

Hope it helps.

andSometimesY