Beginner drummer needs help

Trospa

Hello guys, I'm new to drumming and this forum. Few days ago I purchased Tommy Igoe's Great Hands For Lifetime. Here is video of me playing excercises #1 to #4. I can hear that my tempo is a bit off (metronome is set to 104bpm) but I would really like to hear what do you guys think about my technique. Am I using too much wrist, too much elbow? Every critic is helpful.

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
Slow it down, make bigger motions, and play more from the back of the hand, and loosen up your grip in the front of the hand. One hand is obviously stronger and better coordinated than the other, work the weak hand twice as much as the strong hand, and learn to lead with the weak hand.

Trospa

Slow it down, make bigger motions, and play more from the back of the hand, and loosen up your grip in the front of the hand. One hand is obviously stronger and better coordinated than the other, work the weak hand twice as much as the strong hand, and learn to lead with the weak hand.
What does it mean to play more from the back of the hand? Can you please explain it a bit?

brentcn

Platinum Member
It all looks fine, nice work so far! Overall, you're relaxed, and the sticks are moving smoothly and freely. During the moments when the stick is way up in the air, that pinky finger can disengage, to where it's not curled around the stick, but it should follow the curve of your other fingers, and not stick out. At lower dynamic levels, do what you must, in order to keep the pinky around the butt end of the stick.

The limits of your technique won't become noticeable, in this exercise, at this speed. It's too easy and slow. Your shortcomings will be more obvious when the tempo increases, or the pattern is more difficult. But this is good warm-up material.

Trospa