Beginner double bass songs?

Mastiff

I've been putting a ton of time into my double bass practice and my technique has gotten way better in the last 3-4 months. I have a range of different practice exercises and things I've been working on, but I have very little practice using this stuff within a musical context. The issue is that unlike "normal" rock, where you can start out with some AC/DC or Tom Petty or something, much of the double bass music is either super fast or otherwise very complex. Can anyone recommend some songs I can use to get a foothold into using double bass within a musical context without being overwhelmed? I'm not a beginner in general FWIW, just with the double bass.

One thing I have been doing a little is playing over basic rock songs and improvising my own double bass patterns, but that doesn't help me absorb the vocabulary of double bass as it is actually applied.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Overkill - the whole Years of Decay album

Obituary - Dying

Six Feet Under - the whole Haunted album

If you want a challenge to work on for a while, look into Painkiller by Judas Priest.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Define "while" please MrInsanePolack :giggle:

That has given me a thought though, Take On All The World also by Judas Priest.
Depends on the person. Maybe a month, maybe a year. I didnt mean the whole album, just the song.

Painkiller is a great double bass song because it's all over the place. Once you can get through it, you are well on your way to being able to play just about anything double bass.

Mastiff

I've never paid a lot of attention to Judas Priest outside of their hits. Painkiller is much more technical than I gave the band credit for. Did their drummers change over the years (off to wiki to check it out)?

J-W