Bass drum riser help

James Pickle

Good afternoon all!
I just purchased a new bop kit and so far, I'm having a bad time working with the 18 inch bass drum. I purchased a Gibraltar riser and as you can see, my new beater and head are not good friends. Could anyone advise me as to how to eliminate this problem? I've leveled the BD and adjusted the cam as best I could to eliminate the angle. This is my first time using such a small kit so I'm stumped. The reason why I'm using the riser is simply that I've read all about the sound advantages but so far, I've kinda had it. Thanks all for your help.
IMG_3124.JPGIMG_3122.JPGIMG_3119.JPG

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
I'm not sure if this will work. It might, it might not. Looking at the thing online, it appears to have 2 pieces. Put the pedal clamp part behind the riser part. This will put the pedal clamp part back farther, and thus your pedal closer. I will say, from the second pic, it doesn't look like your chain and footboard really have much clearance. They might contact the hoop.

Mustion

Try raising the front of the kick drum more. But that riser definitely has you clamping the pedal too far back so it may not be enough.

Depending how married you are to the Iron Cobra, you might consider ditching the riser and pick up a Tama HP50 "Classic" pedal, which is height-adjustable and perfect for smaller kick drums.

James Pickle

I'm not sure if this will work. It might, it might not. Looking at the thing online, it appears to have 2 pieces. Put the pedal clamp part behind the riser part. This will put the pedal clamp part back farther, and thus your pedal closer. I will say, from the second pic, it doesn't look like your chain and footboard really have much clearance. They might contact the hoop.
Thank you!! I'll see if I can try this tonight.....I'm not really "hooped" on this whole riser thing.....

James Pickle